A new look for ATN!

Notice something a little bit different around here? For the past month, I’ve been working on a redesign for All Things Nice, and I’m so happy to finally launch our new look! I wanted something clean and classic, where the photography could stand out. I think the whole blog is now more streamlined and professional… but my gosh, it took a lot of playing around with CSS and fonts to find the ideal mix! It honestly took me forever to pick fonts but I’m so happy with what I’ve settled on. The main title is now in Elsie, while subheadings and the left navigation are in Calluna Sans. I also love having a new, smaller logo and top navigation – again, just cleaning up the main area to make the content the focal point. Take a look below at some highlights of the changes:

newlayout_screenshot_edits

And here’s what the old layout looked like… in hindsight, it was way too broken up. Massive title and post date areas. Navigation smack dab in the middle. Too many spaces between the widgets on the left. It’s interesting to compare the two designs – this old layout was a good start but definitely needed some tweaking:

Screen Shot 2013-09-16 at 8.25.50 PM

What do you think of our new look? I’d love to hear your feedback in the comments!

3 thoughts on “A new look for ATN!

  1. Pingback: Farewell to September… | All Things Nice

  2. Cute! I use the Adelle theme too with slight modifications. I’m liking your new font, updated profile pic, and Featured Recipes for sidebar visual! Good job 🙂

Leave a Reply

