Giving thanks

IMG_0130.JPG

IMG_0114.JPG

To all my Canadian readers – I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! I spent the weekend with Jordan and my family. The first day was all about turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes and all that good stuff. The second day… we tried to burn it all off with a 2-hour hike. Seriously, it was the most gorgeous day out today, which made for a perfect hike through the escarpment to see the gorgeous fall colours.

IMG_0135.JPG

IMG_0173.JPG IMG_0165.JPG

I reflected on a lot of things during our lengthy hike – including what I’m thankful for this Thanksgiving. Most of all, I was so thankful this weekend that I was able to go home and spent time with my old buddy – our 15-year-old dog, Max.

IMG_0074.JPG

Earlier this year he was diagnosed with cancer and we thought that was it. That it was time to say goodbye. I’d gotten the phone call from my parents back in the spring and learned that he was limping horribly, and that our vet had told us the prognosis was dire. At the appointment to say our final goodbye, though, Max was bouncing around the room, friendly, happy, wagging his tail – the vet walked in and was shocked to see how much he’d approved. That was back in May. He’s currently on meds and has started limping again, which is a reminder that we definitely don’t have forever. So I’m so thankful that I got to spend another Thanksgiving with him.

What were you thankful for this Thanksgiving?

2 thoughts on “Giving thanks

  1. Your dog is so cute! I’m so sorry to hear about the cancer diagnosis. My dog is thirteen and is blind, has diabetes, and so many other health problems, but is still so full of life. It’s so hard dealing with that with a pet, because they become such a big part of your family. I’ll be thinking of him! Glad you had a good Thanksgiving. Hearing about your day makes me so excited for mashed potatoes and stuffing!

    • Thanks for the kind words hun. Sorry to hear about your pup as well – it really is hard when they’re sick. Such a blessing having them around for as long as possible! (Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving next month!)

Leave a Reply

